Emergency Medical Services

Paramedic Program
American Heart Association (AHA) Training
Special Topics
Outcomes & Accreditation

About Emergency Medical Services

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) providers respond as part of emergency services system to provide care to the sick and injured. Four levels of EMS providers are credentialed in North Carolina. These levels include:

  • Emergency Medical Responder
  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Advanced Emergency Medical Technician
  • Paramedic

EMS providers may serve in public or private settings as first responders, emergency ambulance teams, non-emergency stretcher transportation, critical care transportation, and non-traditional practice settings.

Visit the Beacon’s Nest to purchase Fire & EMT apparel.